“You’re too young to know any better…”

I’m sure you’ve heard that expression before, heck, maybe you’ve said it, I know I have.  But, don’t you hate it?  I know I do.

I really cant seem to recall how many times I’ve heard that, and I’ll tell you that its been more than you’d think.  Now, I understand the feeling and idea behind the comment, and in fact, Im sure that its justified.  After all, we do gain wisdom and experience as we grow.  We learn from our mistakes, we adjust our thinking, we evolve…in essence then, the comment is a legitimate one.  But is it really?

Young Atheists seem to hear this more often than not, in fact, I just heard it from my mom a day ago. The need for an older individual to use their age and experience to invalidate a sound, logical argument is one of the most annoying things anyone can do to me.  I understand that as a young person I will change my mind on things.  Hell, I remember being 17 and thinking I had it all figured out, or being 21 and thinking I was ready for marriage.  Now that Im 24, soon to be a quarter century, I realize how wrong I was.  I realize how shortsighted and immature my mindset was.  Im sure Ill even say that when Im 27, and then 38, and 50, etc etc….but to sacrifice an argument and reach a conclusion on the mere merits of age is, simply put, bullshit….

About George

George is a self-proclaimed philosopher, thinker and ex-Jehovah's Witness that has taken the opportunity to expose his views on religion, atheism, science, history and human interactions through this blog. View all posts by George

Leave a Reply

