Episode 5 – Crazy Shit & Plain Ol’ Stupid…

Very well, here is our latest episode of Witnesses for Atheism.  This time around, George West is back to kick it with us, we talk about Watchtower comments and phrases that they have stated throughout the years that are just outrageous and plain old stupid.  We skipped our Holy Shit Thats in the Bible segment this week, but stay tuned next time for more good texts in the so called holy book.

Hope you enjoy, we had a lot of fun on this one…

The opening and closing song is “Serious Killer” from Kismet and their album titled “Phazer.”

About George

George is a self-proclaimed philosopher, thinker and ex-Jehovah's Witness that has taken the opportunity to expose his views on religion, atheism, science, history and human interactions through this blog. View all posts by George

6 responses to “Episode 5 – Crazy Shit & Plain Ol’ Stupid…

  • Brian

    Great episode as always. To be a fly on the wall at that elder’s meeting…

  • Nick

    Hi guys, I happened upon the podcast through ITunes. I am really enjoying it so far. My mother was a Chicago area JW (which really put me on the fast track to atheism), so hearing about the assemblies at Janesville and Hawthorne really takes me back….to some incredibly fucking boring days! I am forty so I think I was a decade or more ahead of you guys breaking free (you should have seen the fashionable suits at the kingdom hall in the 70s). All kidding aside keep up the good work. In my day to day life, my past experience seems unique, but it is nice to hear that there are others.

    • Jesse

      It’s awesome to hear from someone else from our area.

      It’s funny that you bring up the hell that assemblies and conventions were because even when I was a pioneer/servant i don’t remember enjoying conventions. It’s truly was brutal. I don’t know if you ever had to go to Comiskey but three full days in the hot sun and cold rain may have been the worst experience of my life. Honestly, why would parents put kids through something like that.
      At least we personally were able to end a generation of indoctrination.

      • Nick

        No never Comiskey, but Hawthorne every year, it seemed like always in the summer, on the hottest days, in a bad suit, bored to tears. All Satan would have had to do was dangle an iPod (with instructions, after all it was 1979), and I would have gladly sold my soul (Jehovah who? Give me the damn iPod!).

        It is kind of funny, growing up it was absolutely miserable but we did it. I have three kids now, if I took them to one for a single day (not that I ever would), you would hear the whining two states away. But the only reason I would take them to a stadium it is to watch baseball or basketball!

  • Jay Eldridge

    I understand that you guys work and are going to school, but when will episode 6 come out? When listening to the lastest podcast (from iTunes) I am already eagerly awaiting the next one!

Leave a Reply

